Summer Learning Journey | Week 3: Activity 4: Raranga Pepa

I tenei ra kua oti i ahau tetahi atu mahi Haerenga Ako Raumati. Ko te Haerenga Ako Raumati he kaupapa hei awhina i nga tauira ki te ako tonu puta noa i nga hararei o te Raumati.

I whakatau ahau ki te ngana ki te timata i te whana. Mo tenei mahi Te Reo Maori, me hanga e au he tauira raranga ma te pepa. I te tuatahi ka matakitaki ahau i nga riipene ataata katoa hei awhina i ahau ki te mohio ki te mahi. Ka mutu taku matakitaki i nga riipene whakaata katoa, ka hoki ano ahau ki te riipene tohutohu mo te raranga ma te pepa. Ko nga mea i hiahiatia e au ki te whakamahi i nga pepa tae rereke e 2, te riipene, te kutikuti, te ruri, te pene. Ka mutu taku raranga i aku whenu pepa, ka mau ahau i tetahi whakaahua marama hei whakaatu i te otinga o te ahua o te ahua.

Paatohia a konei kia kite i te ataata tohutohu.

I kitea e au tenei mahi ngahau na te mea i taea e au te ako i tetahi mahi ngahau engari he mahi whakawero e kitea ana i roto i nga tikanga Maori.


Today I have completed another Summer Learning Journey activity. The Summer Learning Journey is a program that helps students keep learning throughout the Summer holidays.

I decided to attempt the kick start. For this Te Reo Maori activity, I needed to create a weaving pattern using paper. I first watched all the videos to help me understand the activity. Once I finished watching all videos, I went back to the instructional video on how to weave using paper. The items I needed to use 2 different colour paper, tape, scissors, ruler, pencil. Once I finished weaving my strands of paper, I took a clear photo to show the finish result on how it looks like.

Click here to see the instructional video.

I found this activity fun because I was able to learn a fun but challengin actvity that is common in the Maori culture.

One thought on “Summer Learning Journey | Week 3: Activity 4: Raranga Pepa

  1. Kia ora Te Raumati,

    Wow your weaving looks fantastic. Have you done any activities like this before? It looks like you knew exactly what to do. Thanks for sharing the link so that other bloggers who may not be doing the SLJ can also complete this task.

    I very much appreciate you translating your post into English for the commenting team – thank you!

    To step up this post even further you could add a wee video of you weaving!

    Keep up the great work,
    Happy Blogging.
    – Mrs Clifford

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *