Summer Learning Journey | Week 4: Activity 3: Musical Fractions

Today I have completed another Summer Learning Journey activity. The Summer Learning Journey is a program that helps students keep learning throughout the Summer holidays.

I decided to attempt the kick start. For this poetry slam activity, I needed to create my own rhythm using fractions. I first watched all the videos to help me understand the activity. Once I finished watching the videos, I got started on the activity. To complete this activity, I needed to create a pattern of fractions that add up to 4. The order of the fractions I used to create my pattern was 1/4, 2/4, 1/4, which adds up to 4. When I finished creating my pattern, I practiced the rhythm by clapping.

I found this activity fun because I was able to practice my fractions by creating unique patterns and rhythms.

2 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey | Week 4: Activity 3: Musical Fractions

  1. Good morning Te Raumati
    Great to see your continued progress on the SLJ.
    This post of yours caught my attention. When teaching maths so often pupils get really confused with fractions.
    I always found them interesting and as you have so well described they can be fun. As you have demonstrated fractions are all around us especially in music.

    regards

  2. Te Raumati,

    Loved the beat that you have created here with your fractions – it was fun and upbeat. I love that music is maths and that maths is in music. They are 2 of my favourite things. I was looking at finding some fun tasks for my kids this year in maths and came across a website called ‘get the math in music’ . I had so much fun playing around with this and look forward to showing it to my kids this year.

    What do you like about maths and what do you find difficult?

    Theresa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *